Roger T. Howe

William E. Ayer Professor Dept. of Electrical Engineering Paul G. Allen Building, Room 314, 420 Via Palou Mall Stanford University Stanford, California 94305-4075 USA Tel (650) 723-8030 rthowe@stanford.edu http://www.stanford.edu/~rthowe

ACADEMIC POSITIONS

(2005 –) Stanford University

- William E. Ayer Professor (2009)
 Professor (2005), Faculty Director, Stanford Nanofabrication Facility (2009 2017)
 Department of Electrical Engineering
- (2018) Thayer School of Engineering at Dartmouth, Visiting Professor
- (1987 2005) University of California, Berkeley
 Robert S. Pepper Distinguished Professor (2004 2005)
 Chair, Electrical Engineering Division and Associate Chair, EECS Dept. (2002 2005)
 Professor (1993), Associate Professor (1989 1993), Assistant Professor (1987 1989)
 Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences
 Professor (1997), Department of Mechanical Engineering
 Director (1993 –), Associate Director (1987 1993), Berkeley Sensor & Actuator Center
- (1985 1987): *Massachusetts Institute of Technology* Assistant Professor, Dept. of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
- (1984 1985): *Carnegie Mellon University* Assistant Professor, Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering

START-UP COMPANIES

Co-Founder (2015) and Scientific Advisor, ProbiusDx, Inc. (2015 –) Co-Founder (2010) of Acera, Inc. Co-Founder (2004) and Chief Scientist (2004 – 2010): Silicon Clocks, Inc. Acquired by Silicon Laboratories, Austin, Texas, April 2010

RESEARCH INTERESTS

Design and fabrication of micro/nano sensors, actuators, and signal processes devices and systems; heterogeneous integration processes; thermionic energy conversion devices.

EDUCATION

University of California, Berkeley: Ph.D., December 1984, M.S., December 1981.
Engineering Science, Dept. of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences.
Harvey Mudd College, Claremont, California, B.S., May 1979. Major: physics, applied option.

HONORS

IEEE Electron Devices Society Education Award, 2015 Citration: "For contributions to mentoring and education in the fields of microelectromechanical systems and nanotechnology."

IEEE Electron Devices Society Robert Bosch Micro and Nano Electromechanical Systems Award (with Y.-C. Tai): 2015

Citation: "For sustained contributions to MEMS/NEMS over many years especially those enabling MEMS-based inertial-sensor applications."

U.S. National Academy of Engineering: 2005.

Citation: "For contributions to the development of microelectromechanical systems in processes, devices and systems."

IEEE Cledo Brunetti Award (with R. S. Muller): 1998

Citation: "For leadership and pioneering contributions to the field of microelectromechanical systems."

IEEE Fellow: 1996.

Citation: "for seminal contributions to microfabrication technologies, devices, and microelectromechanical systems."

Analog Devices Career Development Professorship, 1988 – 1991 NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award, 1986 IBM Faculty Development Award, 1984 – 1986 David J. Sakrison Memorial Prize and Demetri Angelakos Memorial Achievement Award, Dept. of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences, Univ. of California, Berkeley, 1984

ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICE

Co-Chair (2015 – 2017) and Member (2009 –), Campus Nanoscale Sciences and Engineering Shared Facility Program Committee
Chair, Allen Shared Labs Committee, School of Engineering, 2014 – 2015
Member, Strategic Planning Committee: Dept. of Electrical Engineering, 2005-2006
Chair, Master's Degree Program Reform Committee, Dept. of Electrical Engineering, 2006-2007
Associate Chair, Dept. of EECS, 2002 – 2005
Head of Undergraduate Affairs: Dept. of EECS, 1992 – 1993.
Chair, Undergraduate Curriculum Reform Committee: Dept. of EECS, 1992 – 1993.
Member, Strategic Planning Committee: Dept. of EECS, 1993 – 1995
College of Engineering, 1994 – 1995
Co-Chair, Curriculum Revision Committee: Dept. of EECS, 1997 – 1998.

PROFESSIONAL SERVICE

Director, NSF National Nanotechnology Infrastructure Network (NNIN), 2011 - 2015

U.S. Air Force Scientific Advisory Board, 2004 - 2008

Trustee; Overseer; Emeritus Trustee: Transducer Research Foundation, Inc. Cleveland, Ohio, 1995-2007; 2007 – 2015; 2015 –

Chair: MEMS Technical Committee, IEEE Electron Devices Society, 1998 - 2001

Technical Program Chair: 12th International Conference on Solid-State Sensors, Actuators, and Microsystems, Boston, Mass., June 8-12, 2003

General Chair: Solid-State Sensor and Actuator Workshop, Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, June 1996.

Technical Program Chair: Solid-State Sensor and Actuator Workshop, Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, June 1994.

General Co-Chair: 3rd IEEE Micro Electro Mechanical Systems Workshop, Napa Valley, California, February 1990.

Technical Program Co-Chair: IEEE Micro Electro Mechanical Systems Workshop, Salt Lake City, Utah, February 1989.

Member of Editorial Boards: IEEE/ASME Journal of Microelectromechanical Systems, 1998 – 2002, 2006 – Microsystem Technology, 1994 – Sensors and Actuators A, 1988 –

Co-Editor: Microsytems and Nanosystems Series (Springer)

ADVISORY BOARD AND CONSULTING RELATIONSHIPS

ACLARA BioSciences, Mountain View, Calif., 1996 – 2001 Analog Devices, Cambridge, Mass., 1989 – 2008 Ardesta LLC, Ann Arbor, Michigan 2001 – 2004 DaimlerChrysler, Circle Member Group, Stuttgart, Germany, 1997 – 2001 Discera, Inc., San Jose, Calif., 2001 – 2004 Federal Products Corp., Providence, R.I., 1987 – 1988 General Motors Research, Warren, Mich., 1986 – 1990 Gerson Lehrman Group, Council of Communications and Technology Advisors, 2000 – 2004 LG Electronics, Seoul, Korea, 2015 – 2018 Medcam, Bellevue, Wash., 1998 – 1999 MEMSIC, Andover, Mass., 1999 – 2004 MicroReactor Systems, Mt. View, Calif., 2003 – 2005 Motion Sense, Fremont, Calif., 2000 – 2002 Obsidian Sensors, San Diego, Calif., 2008 – ProbiusDx, Inc., Sunnyvale, Calif., 2015 – (co-founder) Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, N.M., 1996 – 2008 Silicon Clocks, Inc., Fremont, Calif., 2004 – 2010 (co-founder) Silicon Laboratories, Sunnyvale, Calif., 2010 – 2014 Silicon Light Machines, Sunnyvale, Calif., 1995 – 1998 Silicon Microgravity, Ltd., Cambridge, UK, 2015 – SiWave (later Siimpel, acquired by Tessara in 2010), Arcadia, Calif., 2000 – 2003 SRI International, Menlo Park, Calif., 2009 – 2010 Sundstrand Data Control, Redmond, Wash., 1989 – 1990