Stanford



Carlos Ernesto Guestrin

Professor of Computer Science

Bio

BIO

Carlos Guestrin is a Professor in the Computer Science Department at Stanford University. His previous positions include the Amazon Professor of Machine Learning at the Computer Science & Engineering Department of the University of Washington, the Finmeccanica Associate Professor at Carnegie Mellon University, and the Senior Director of Machine Learning and AI at Apple, after the acquisition of Turi, Inc. (formerly GraphLab and Dato) — Carlos co-founded Turi, which developed a platform for developers and data scientist to build and deploy intelligent applications. He is a technical advisor for OctoML.ai. His team also released a number of popular open-source projects, including XGBoost, LIME, Apache TVM, MXNet, Turi Create, GraphLab/PowerGraph, SFrame, and GraphChi.

Carlos received the IJCAI Computers and Thought Award and the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE). He is also a recipient of the ONR Young Investigator Award, NSF Career Award, Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship, and IBM Faculty Fellowship, and was named one of the 2008 'Brilliant 10' by Popular Science Magazine. Carlos' work received awards at a number of conferences and journals, including ACL, AISTATS, ICML, IPSN, JAIR, JWRPM, KDD, NeurIPS, UAI, and VLDB. He is a former member of the Information Sciences and Technology (ISAT) advisory group for DARPA.

ACADEMIC APPOINTMENTS

- Professor, Computer Science
- Member, Bio-X

LINKS

• My faculty website.: http://guestrin.stanford.edu

Teaching

COURSES

2023-24

• Ethics of Artificial Intelligence: CS 281 (Spr)

• Machine Learning: CS 229, STATS 229 (Aut)

2022-23

• Ethics of Artificial Intelligence: CS 281 (Spr)

• Machine Learning: CS 229, STATS 229 (Aut)

2021-22

• Ethics of Artificial Intelligence: CS 281 (Spr)

• Machine Learning: CS 229, STATS 229 (Aut)

STANFORD ADVISEES

Postdoctoral Faculty Sponsor

Yu Sun

Orals Evaluator

Chen Li

Master's Program Advisor

Pratyush Agarwal, Maia Deutsch, George Dimopoulos, Jacob Frausto, Akshay Gupta, Kayson Hansen, Yucheng Jiang, Yunong Liu, Yiming Ni, Edwin Pua, Daniel Shin, Eric Tang, Olivia Weiner, Boxin Zhang

Doctoral Dissertation Co-Advisor (AC)

Natalie Dullerud, Agata Foryciarz, John Hughes, Chen Li, Liana Patel, Alex Wang, Mert Yuksekgonul

Doctoral (Program)

Edward Chen, Adarsh Jeewajee, Theodora Worledge